Arrival of the Turtles in Playa Ostional


Although I have lived in Costa Rica for more than five years, last “Green Season” was the first time I actually took the time to go and see what everyone was talking about: “La arribada de las tortugas” (The arrival of the Turtles) in Playa Ostional.

Start counting… this is just a little part of the beach!

Every year, from August to November, hundreds and sometimes hundred of thousands of the Olive Ridley Sea Turtles come to lay their eggs at the Ostional Wildlife Refugee. Last September, I assisted to one of nature’s most impressive phenomenons. The Ostioanal Wildlife Refugee was created in 1984 in order to protect one of the world’s largest nesting site for this type of turtles.

As if they were coming to see me!

When we called to make the reservations at the park, we were told that the best time to see them was just before sunset, so my friends and I arrived at the refugee around 4pm. We knew that a lot of turtles were going to be on the beach but we never imagined that we will see turtles on more than 2km. The estimation of our guide was that there were more than 250,000 turtles laying their eggs. Can you imagine? And we were there to see this! I did not know where to look and all I could think of was take as many pictures as possible because you might never see this in your life, and so I did. I am sharing some with you and I am inviting you to come and experience this as I think that this is an unforgettable moment in one’s life.

I named her Bonnie – I felt that she was smiling at me!

Who said that there was nothing to do in Costa Rica in the “Green Season”? Costa Rica is a year-round destination, you will always find something do – one of my favorite things in Green Season are the fabulous sunsets on the Pacific. This last picture is self explanatory! Will you go visit Ostional on your next trip to Costa Rica?

I took a little moment to observe this natural spectacle that I had in front of my eyes! Speechless!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, Nature, Photography, Sports - Activities - Events, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arrival of the Turtles in Playa Ostional

  1. Thank you for stopping by my blog so that I could fine you here! This is my first stop, and I am so envious! I keep telling my friends at Playa San Miguel, ‘ we HAVE to go to ostinal for an arribada.’ seems that my timing over the past few years has not coordinated with the nesting season.
    Not enough people have seen this post of yours. We’re going to have to do something about that!!!!
    Will be back soon!
    z

Leave a Reply

