It’s Officially Flip-Flop Season!


In Costa Rica it’s flip-flop season year round. When I moved from Montreal, Canada to the tropics over five years ago, I had to change my boots for flip-flops.

Which flips flops to buy? Which ones are more comfortable? Which ones are more durable? Which ones can I use on a daily basis? Those were all questions that came to mind. After five years of wearing flip-flops everyday, I have finally made up my mind.

When I first moved here, I brought an old yellow/green pair of Havaianas  and two new pairs of Roxy’s.They were cute, stylish but not very comfortable for my sweaty feet. I had two issues with my Roxy’s:

– One pair was made out of gum sole and the plastic was very hard for my inner toes. I would constantly get blisters.

– The other pair, that was more fancy, harder sole with the fake leather top and very thin vinyl thongs always made me slip. As my feet sweat a lot in this tropical weather I needed something more stable.

Second try: Billabong– everyone was telling me how comfortable they are and how I can find them in all these colors and styles – so I went and bought a pair. My worse investment in terms of flip-flops! I wore them for one full month and by the end of it, I had blue feet (the sole was a deep dark blue) and had no more sole (it thins out and takes the shape of your foot). Conclusion: no more Billabongs flips flops for me.

Between all these flip-flop tryout, I always had a pair or two of Havaianas sitting around, and even if I had all these new flip-flops I would always go back to my old havaianas. You will ask me why? There are several reasons to it:

They are the most comfortable flip-flops I have ever tried. Their sole is made out of a special gum which never thins out and does not take the shape of your foot. My sweaty feet are in control, I don’t constantly slip on them as the sole has a grip to it and finally I can find them in all these cool colors and styles.

My old pair of Havaianas from Canada is still alive!

What flip-flops do you wear?

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in My Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Officially Flip-Flop Season!

  1. Lisa at fLVE says:

    I flop around in a cheap pair from Old Navy’s to and from Yoga class, but will seriously consider buying a nicer one from Havaianas now that you mention it. I have always like their designs.

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Although Havaianas are a little more expensive than your Old Navy’s, they will last you longer and you will not want to go back to Old Navy. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

