My morning fix


Coffee is usually the morning fix for most of us! It’s also mine, however I am not a filter coffee (American coffee) kind of person. Some call me a picky or a snob, because I usually refuse a cup of American coffee and I always travel with my Moka Express, my Bialetti precisely.

What is the Moka Express? The Moka pot is a stove top coffee maker which produces coffee by passing hot water pressurized by steam through ground coffee. It was first patented by inventor Luigi De Ponti for Alfonso Bialetti in 1933. It is commonly used in Europe and Latin America. (Source: Wikipedia)

Why do I like this better than a regular cup of coffee? First, because I love to drink espresso, cappuccino or lattes. Second, because I love the flavor of coffee when it’s strong and coarse. I don’t like it when it is watered-down. Third, the Moka Express is versatile: the coffee it makes is very similar to a shot of espresso, so just add some sugar and done, you got your fix! Or you can make it as a latte – one or two shots of coffee, add some steamed milk, latte it is! Finally, it is much easier for me to travel with my Bialetti, than with an espresso machine.

Which coffee to use in my Moka Express? In Italy, they usually use espresso coffee. In Costa Rica, the story had to change. Costa Rica is known for its coffee on an international level, so I knew that I had some good options. The first one I tried was Cafe Britt, the most famous coffee brand in the country. They have a variety of flavors Tarrazu Gourmet, Poas Volcanic Earth and Costa Rica Espresso Roast just to name a few. Now, I am not sure if it is the best coffee or they just have a great marketing strategy, because it’s definitely not my favorite brand. I have tried several other ones, but finally opted for Cafe Rey and precisely for Cafe Rey Selecto. Why did I choose this one? I love its roasted taste, its perfume and aroma are strong but balanced and gentle at the same time. Have you guys tried it?

When I am not at home to get my fix, I usually get a cappuccino in the mornings at one of the coffee shops in town and/or short espresso after lunch. My favorite place in my beach town, Playas del Coco, to get a cappuccino is at Heladeria Italiana 0039, Manu, the owner, knows exactly how I like it; in Spanish we call it “tibio con canela” just warm enough and with a swirl of cinnamon.

How do you like your coffee?

A cappuccino, just the way I like it!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, Food, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

