Langosta… a much needed getaway


Some friends invited me to their new pad in Playa Langosta. They moved in their new beachfront apartment about a week ago and wanted me to come visit. I could not say no, I mean really – beach front?

I got to their new place yesterday just in time for sunset. One of them fixed me a cocktail and out we went on the patio to admire the different shades of yellow, orange and red.

Yesterday's sunset from the terrace of my friends' new pad

After a couple of cocktails, it was time for dinner. We decided to stay in and cook. I actually love to cook with them, we usually try new recipes but to the general demand, I had to make my secret mushroom and tomatoes pasta. They say that I should start sharing recipes on this blog, but I am still thinking about it. Maybe one day.

After a delicious feast and a couple of glasses of wine, they decided to go to bed. One of them works really early in the mornings – 5am. Crazzzyyyy! I then called my long time friend Sarah, she used to live in Coco, to see what she was up to. She came over and we chatted for a bit while sipping our wine on my private balcony overlooking the Pacific ocean while listening to the waves breaking. So peaceful!

After an amazing night sleep (OMG my super king size bed was so comfortable) I finally rolled out of bed. The boys had already planned the day.

We decided to go for a stroll on the beach and potentially have breakfast somewhere.

Playa Langosta is a pretty rocky beach, at high tide it's really hard to know where to swim.

After a good 10 min walk, passing some very expensive estates, we finally got to “Los Suenos del Mar”, this really quaint B&B. My friends had already been, so they suggested we go. After admiring the surroundings, how could I say no?

Lounging chairs on the beach

The beach front of the Bed & Breakfast is fabulous. It has a shaded area with beds, hammocks and lounge chairs. This bed was so inviting, I just wanted to spend my whole day there, chill and read a good book, while listening to the music the Pacific ocean has to offer. Wouldn’t you? Can you see the details on the bed spread? It’s nicer than the one I have in my apartment. Lol

The staff from “Los Suenos del Mar” greeted us as we sat down. The menu – crepes filled with pineapple chutney, veggies omelet, passion fruit juice and coffee. Delicious! After breakfast, I visited the front part where the rooms are. I really liked how all rooms connect to this interior garden and hang out place for the guests. I obviously inquired about their pricing, I was already dreaming to come spend a couple of days in this hidden paradise, but I thought that the prices are a little steep – $195 for a standard room. A little out of my budget. Maybe some day.

Our next destination – Langosta’s estuary. A well deserved dip in the ocean followed our arrival, as it was about 35 degrees out. The waves were also “au rendez-vous”, so we had some fun in the water (I managed to keep my bathing suit on this time). Although I have been to Langosta several times, I never got to see the grandiosity of the estuary and its surrounding beach. Amazing!

After the morning fun, I had to get some work done, so we headed back to the condo. Of course I could not work all afternoon, I did not go to Langosta for that, right? My friend booked us a massage on the beach just before sunset. What better way to finish a wonderful afternoon? So relaxing… I was in heaven. We ended this fabulous day with a gourmet dinner at the “Langosta Beach Club”.

Adios, Langosta I will come visit soon!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, Food, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Langosta… a much needed getaway

  1. very lovely and romantic place..very lovely sunset ..you have described this place in very well way..pictures are awesome.. I felt crazy about this place..Thanks for sharing such a wonderful place..

  2. Mrs. Sasu says:

    Thank you! I hope someday you will visit this little piece of paradise.

  3. abbytegnelia says:

    I would give anything to meet you there! I have vacation in May — I was leaning towards someplace new, but maybe I should just come back down to Costa Rica?!

  4. Mrs. Sasu says:

    Abby… you know that you are always welcome to Ticalandia… this is if I am not moving to Vegas before May comes!

Leave a Reply

