Pasta with Mushroom & White Wine Sauce… My style


As I have made this dish more than 5 times in the past month and everyone loves it and asks for more, to one of my friend’s suggestion I decided to share my recipe.

I am no chef by any means, I just like to cook to entertain and invent new dishes. So here it goes…

I did not have my camera...so Iphone it is, next time I make it I will have the camera ready.

Ingredients (4 Portions)

– 4 minced garlic cloves (medium size)

– 4 cups of sliced mushrooms (champignons)

– 2 cans (8oz) of diced tomatoes

– 8oz of heavy cream

– 4oz of White wine (I use Pinot Grigio) but I think any type of white wine will do

– 1 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese

– 2 spoons of olive oil

– 2 spoons of butter

– 400 gr of Penne

– Chilli Pepper flakes (a pinch) if you don’t like spicy food, omit this ingredient.

– Salt & Pepper to your taste

Directions

Boil pasta – read carefully the instructions – if it says 9-11 minutes, I suggest you leave it for 9 as later you will have to cook it in the sauce, if you leave it too long it will be soggy.

Heat the olive oil in a wok at high (throughout the recipe, you always leave the heat on high), once hot put the minced garlic and let it roast for about one minute or less. When the garlic is gold, add the mushrooms and the wine. Stir for about 3 minutes as the wine reduces. Add salt, pepper and chilli flakes to the mix.

Once the mushrooms are cooked but still crunchy, add the tomatoes and stir to incorporate with the mushrooms. Let it cook for about 3 minutes.

Add the heavy cream to the mix while stirring and let it reduce and thicken. This will reduce to about half. This can take about 5-8 minutes. You have to be careful and stir constantly if not, the sauce will split. Once the consistency is thick, looking like a runny sauce add the Parmesan cheese to the mix and continue stirring. The sauce will thicken.

Incorporate the pasta and the butter to the sauce. Serve

Bon Appetit!

I hope you try it and it will be a success with your friends as much as it is with mine! Please don’t hesitate to ask any questions, as I am not to sure if the instructions are clear… my first time writing a recipe!😉

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pasta with Mushroom & White Wine Sauce… My style

  1. carol grant says:

    I remember it being tastie and also because someone else cooked it to be even better!!!!!!

  2. Melissa Christensen says:

    Mmmmmmmm thanks so much for posting the recipe!!! I can’t wait to test it out on my own🙂

  3. Noodle says:

    DELICIOUSO!😀

Leave a Reply

