Watermelon & Mint Smoothie


The watermelon season is coming to an end in Costa Rica, which makes me a little sad. Although we have watermelons year-round, the ones produced locally are organic, juicy, fresh, sweet and very tasty.

Doesn't it look delicious?

When I was living in Canada, I never thought to make watermelon juices, smoothies or drinking something where the base is watermelon. In Costa Rica, “Jugo de Sandia” (watermelon juice) is very popular, so of course I started drinking it.

At the beginning of the season, I tried the Watermelon & Mint Smoothie at a local Juice Bar. Initially, I thought that the combination was weird, but it was their 2nd best seller, so I had to try it. Just after a few sips I was convinced and it all of sudden it became my drink of choice for the past few months.

Combining sweet watermelon, ice and mint makes this beverage so refreshing for this hot weather.

I decided to share this with you as I know that up-north you are looking forward to the summer, so you might want to try it. It’s really simple to make and a great alternative to bottled juices. ;)

What you need and how to make it.

- 1 cup of watermelon pieces (preferably without seeds)

- 6 ice cubes

- 4 regular size fresh mint leaves

- 100 ml of cold water

Combine all ingredients in the blender and start blending.

Sugar or honey can be added to the mix. I usually don’t add any because the watermelons are very sweet here.

Blending, blending...

For those of you that would want to turn it into an alcoholic drink, you can. I added a shot of Absolute vodka to the mix. It’s delicious! :)

Final product

I like to serve it in a big wine glass and add a little piece of watermelon!

Please try it and let me know how you like it!

Cheers!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Watermelon & Mint Smoothie

  1. dfmw says:

    Reblogged this on the Pub servation and commented:
    i will indeed give this a try. thanks for post.

  2. carol grant says:

    Sounds yummy Sasu. When my brother is here we will try it.

  3. Anna says:

    So trying this!

  4. never thought of watermelon and mint! Will try

  5. Lisa at fLVE says:

    So refreshing! Love watermelon and never thought to use mint…great idea! :)

  6. abbytegnelia says:

    I want one!! That sounds and looks amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

