Mombacho Cigar Factory


On my last visit to Nicaragua, we stopped to visit the Mombacho Cigar Factory in Granada. The factory is located in a colonial house, so it really did not look like a factory, it was actually quite neat!

As we are walking to the working stations

We got a guided tour of the small factory where these premium cigars are manually manufactured at 3 working stations.

The cigars are a blend of three different tobaccos carefully selected by the company’s experts. We were explained that the combination of the very fertile volcanic soil and the Caribbean climate, makes the Nicaraguan tobacco one of the finest in the world.

In the back of the factory they have a lounging area with a pool where you can enjoy a drink, a cigar or a dip. Unfortunately we did not have time to hang out there, but I would have loved to. It was really pretty and calm.

Garden view from the lounging area. I really wanted to take a dip in that pool, it was so hot outside!

Finally, I am no expert when it comes to cigars but I must say that I enjoyed one on our boat trip to the Granada Islands. It was smooth and mild, I did not have that yucky after taste I usually get when I smoke a cigar. So I must say I quite liked them. Too bad I did not buy a box.πŸ˜‰ The cigars are now sold in Nicaragua, Canada and Asia or can be also ordered online. You should try them if you like cigars!

This is the final product!

Anyone has tried them? What did you think?

 

 

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sports - Activities - Events, Travel, Uncategorized, World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mombacho Cigar Factory

  1. Lisa at fLVE says:

    I don’t smoke, but these look interesting and I would love to take a tour or get them as gifts for people that do smoke cigars. Lovely pictures. Wish you did have time to take a swim or hang out there. Looks like a lovely spot.πŸ™‚

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Hey Lisa, as I mentioned in my post these are really good mild cigars, check their website, I am sure they distribute them in the US as well. By the way the wooden boxes are also hand made and really nice. Everything is locally made and with local materials as well.

Leave a Reply

