No more junk, it’s time to be healthy


May 1st, 2012

Today, is the beginning of the new me.

I have decided that moving forward I have to eat only healthy food. No more crap! That means that I have to change some things in my life; no more eating out at the soda (that’s how we call fast food places or local restaurants in Costa Rica) for lunch because I am in a rush or to lazy to make a salad, no more weekly or bi-weekly feasts at my Italian friends house, no more pasta, bread and sugar in enormous quantities, no more dates with Pinot for extended hours, and no more Diet Coke – probably one of the hardest ones to eliminate. The list is so long that I should just stop here.

My friend Cheryl and I decided that it was time for a Detox and a new healthy lifestyle. We started this journey together because we think we will motivate each other and as we spend most of our free time together, it would be easier to have the same new habits. No more, let’s go to Ginger for dessert, or let’s have a date with Placido. None of that, at least for a while!

Let’s face it, this past weekend we stuffed our faces with all the things that we love to eat but are so unhealthy, went to our favorite restaurants and maybe did some excessive drinking.

But now we are ready to start The New US!

A couple of weeks ago, I went to see a lady that explained to me what we should and should not eat in order to be healthy, speed up our metabolism and just feel good about ourselves. She will be our coach for the next coming weeks, she is very nice, but strict and I am sure she can be mean, so we decided to call her “Hitler”.

Our Detox, as we like to call it, is a new diet, well not really a diet, but just a new way of eating. Hitler send us different emails with what we have to do and what we can and cannot eat, at what times we can eat what and how much of it. At first sight, it looked like Chinese and mainly impossible, but after reading her emails several times and of course discussing them, we convinced ourselves that we could do it.

The conclusion was: GREEN, GREEN & more GREEN!

My attempt to make Asparagus & Zucchini Soup

Hitler also told us that we will be loosing some weight because we are eliminating all the junk and sugars we used to eat, so she send us to buy some type of jump suit that tucks everything in and does not allow your skin to drop and flop or let me to breathe for that matter! We will see how much we will use that as I am not even sure how I will manage to put it on when it’s 35 degrees out. To be continued…

Back to the Detox… To begin with we have to cleanse our bodies for 5 days, so today was our first day… all we could eat and drink was:

  • Some type of Lemonade – which I will not discuss… not very good!
  • Green Veggies (any form – raw, cooked, baked etc)
  • Water
  • Red Tea after lunch and Green Tea at night

We both thought we would be starving… but we were not. After my 2 cucumbers, a bowl of lettuce, 1 baked zucchini, 4 cups of lemonade, and lots and lots of water, I am feeling pretty good! My green tea felt like a treat tonight! I also managed to squeeze a little over one hour of exercise in there. Hitler says we have to walk at least for one hour a day. To my biggest disappointment, she does not allow me to use my bike to often but I can go a play volleyball, so that’s good.

So DAY 1… in the bag! Now we have to see for day 2, 3, 4, 5… regular healthy menu.

Do you think we can do it?

BTW… I am also committing to write a blog post every week with our progress and some new recipes I might find and like!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No more junk, it’s time to be healthy

  1. carol grant says:

    Good luck girls!!! I cant imagine Cheryl witout diet coke but she has been determined to stay with diets before and has great determination. Hope it goes well!!!

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Ahhh… Thanks Carol! I know, that for both her and I this will be very hard, but another thing I forgot to mention is that we cannot have any ice in our water, so that’s another challenge! I know we can do it though! Keep you posted! Hope all is well back on the north side!🙂

  2. Cheryl says:

    Love you mom!!!!!! Thanks for the support🙂 Hibernation is my game plan…As I really do think it’s probably the best for everyone when I’m off the diet coke, bread, cheese and wine! Made it through day two….I’d be lying if I said I was excited for day three.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Ahhh…And so everyone knows how horrible this “lemonade” is…. Its warm water, maple syrup, fresh lemon and cayenne pepper….BARF! Lesson learned….Never let Sasu talk you into anything…she can’t be trusted lol

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      How are you feeling Cheryl? Did anger take over you? Muahahahaha are we still friends? lol Great work chica! Day 2 is finished… we have almost half of it done!😉

Leave a Reply

