New Lifestyle – Week One Completed


Mission Accomplished!!!

We were able to stick to the strict 5 days Greens and more Greens and lemonade detox. It was a success! Thank God… I mean it was probably one of the hardest things I have done in my life in terms of eating. Last, Friday afternoon, Cheryl and I had an appointment with Hitler, although scared to go, we still managed to come out on a positive note. I must say, Hitler is awesome! She has this way of talking to you that just gives you strength and motivates you. So all in all, everything went well and she was very proud of us.

Our new lifestyle is mainly composed of fruits in the morning, fish/chicken with veggies for lunch and veggies or soup for dinner (if we really want to we can have fish or chicken as well). At the beginning, I thought that it would be hard to manage, but I made it work and feel great about it.

On this note, I just would like to share some of the dishes I made and discovered during this past week.

One of my favorite’s was an Asparagus Soup that I found on Epicurious.com, my new favorite app on the Iphone. In case you don’t have the app, please try it, it’s awesome! The only thing I changed in the recipe was that instead of butter, I put a spoon of olive oil to make is less fattening.

It actually looks better in real life!

In order to vary a little bit for lunch, I also invented this Tuna Salad Mix for wraps. It is really healthy, tasty and easy to make.

Ingredients

  • One tuna can (Tuna in water, not in oil)
  • 1/2 cup of cucumbers cut in small dices
  • 1/4 cup of cherry tomatoes cut in quarters
  • 2 finely chopped mini-chives
  • 1/2 lime squeezed
  • 1 table spoon of extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Put all ingredients in a bowl, once everything is mixed, fill a wheat wrap with it. It’s delicious and on the positive side, there is no mayo involved so it makes it light.😉

As mentioned in my earlier posts, all we can drink now is water, tea or freshly pressed juices. But as we cannot eat or drink anything involving fruits after lunch, water and tea are the drinks of choice. Water can become boring to drink especially to an ex-diet coco addict, so I found a variation of water that I like very much. Apparently they serve this in spas… I never had this in any spa I visited, but hey I did not go to very famous spas.😉

The new type of water I drink now to make change is: Cucumber & Lemon Water. I know it sounds strange but it is very refreshing. In a 1L of water add 5-6 pieces of cucumber and 3-4 pieces of lemon, let it sit for a couple of hours, however don’t let it sit over night.

On a final note, I also stopped going to eat out so much because in this area, there are not to many places where one can actually eat healthy food. But on the positive note, my favorite coffee shop “Cocoa Cafe” served me one of the most delightful salads I had this past week – Smoked Salmon and Sesame Salad

Deliciousssss!

Finally, this new lifestyle is not only about food, but also exercise. Now, that high season finished all of us are less busy so we are back playing volleyball on a regular basis. I must say that playing beach vball, 2 on 2 is quite an exercise in this heat. The first few times, I barely made it home! lol

Hitler is happy with my volleyball playing, but she also tells me that in order to have a better blood circulation I should walk at least one hour a day. I try to do so, but sometimes the motivation is not there! I find it boring. So, to motivate myself I made some good playlists and decided to go walk at sunset on the beach. After snapping this shot, that I put as background on my phone, I am getting the motivation to go walk, afraid I would miss an awesome sunset!😉 Anything to motivate you, I guess!

Wouldn’t this motivate you?

Any tricks on a healthy lifestyle? Please share!

If you are thinking of changing your lifestyle, well I hope my journey to this new world inspires you!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Food, Life, My Ramblings, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Lifestyle – Week One Completed

  1. Cheryl says:

    Life is pretty boring now…conversations have definitely changed! hahahaha But feeling much better and lets face it when we are skinny like models we can have fun again (without late night hotdogs….well maybe one?)

Leave a Reply

