The saga of the Cayenne…


Better to take this with humor…

This is not a subject that I would usually write about, but I really have to do as it is pretty unbelievable.

MY CAR  Aka The Cayenne

My car is an old 1993 tank, also called a Hyundai Galloper. It’s a massive grey SUV that I can take on any roads, pass rivers with it and from time to time drive it shamefully in the city!😉

Not to mention that it has natural A/C, providing I can open the windows. lol My sound system includes my Ipod and Cheryl’s speakers! Do you get the picture? lol

Although I bitch about it, I am very grateful because The Cayenne took me all over Costa Rica, even in places where I would have never imagined a car could pass.

So all in all I love it!

About three months ago the saga of The Cayenne started. My car was making a strange noise when I would shift the gears up and down and the noise would just get stronger as I would release the car. I don’t usually get embarrassed very easy, but driving a very noisy tank around town was not ideal.

After making a couple of phone calls to find a trustworthy mechanic, I land on MacGyver. I mean really, who calls himself MacGyver??? Anyways, I am digressing… He was recommended to me by my attorney, my handyman as well as some good friends. So… I told myself “MacGyver is the one!” He must call himself MacGyver for a reason, no? Moving on…

I call MacGyver and ask him where his garage is and if I could bring him the car. Yes, yes, yes… bring it I have time! Now I know why he had time! (Rolling my eyes – I wish I had that emicom) lol

His Garage

His garage or shall I say, his Shack??? Well… I know that garages in Guanacaste can be something different than what I am used to in Canada, but this one top it off, not only with the construction but also with what surrounded it: “Cars from 1982 with no doors on, car engines and other parts laying on the property, chickens running around and not to forget the 2 cows that mow the lawn!” You get the picture?

But, I told myself, “who cares?” everyone recommended him so don’t be such a snob!

I made quite an entrance when I arrived to the garage ” BRRRRRRRRRRRRR up the hill to the shack” Everyone around was looking and so was MacGyver. This is probably what went through his head when he saw me getting out of the car!

Gringa – this is how Costa Ricans call us foreigners from the north.

MacGyver and the “guilas”, his helpers, came to greet me. I told them about my problem and asked him to check the car and call me. Off I went, thinking I was leaving my car in good hands!

The next day, MacGyver called me with the news:

  1. The differential in the back of my car is broken so I have to change it.
  2. It is really hard to find one for your car because your car is old and diesel.

Great news right? Arghhh… I asked him how long he thought it would take to find the part… he said “Ufff I don’t know but I will start looking” I gave him a week. I called him back to follow up. Nothing!!! So I asked him to give me the exact model so I can start calling my friends in San Jose, my mechanic there and everyone I know to find this part. Not to mention that it was February, peak of high season, I was busy with clients left right and center and my means of transportation were my bike or Victor (my regular taxi driver) when my destination involved crossing a mountain or the weather did not permit to bike (beaming sun and above 35 degrees Celsius). lol

Anyways, long story short, ten days ago, David, my mechanic from San Jose called with good news. He found the part!!! I was beyond excited… until I found out the price! I will not discuss it… as it just makes me mad! So, I send him the money and we schedule his arrival to Playas del Coco with the part. I told David that I felt better if he would come to work on my car as I knew him and because MacGyver did not seem to interested in helping me.

Last weekend, David arrived with his two helpers. I was thrilled! On Sunday night, I called MacGiver to tell him that in the morning we will pass to pick up the car because we found the part. All annoyed, he tells me that the car is taken apart and that we cannot go pick up the car in the morning. I immediately got annoyed and asked him, why my car was taken apart and how come he did not ask for my permission to take it apart? The last time I saw the car, everything was in place. He blabbered some BS so I hung up. I immediately called David and told him the story. He told me not to worry and that we will go anyway to the garage in the morning.

8 am… We show up! The Cayenne is in the shack and MacGyver and his “guilas” are taking the car apart as we are getting there. David gets down of our car and goes to talk to him. MacGyver freaks out… tells him that he told us not to come at this time and that the reason he took the car apart was because he was looking for some parts. Looking for some parts??? WHAT??? I kept my calm and let David deal with the situation because I knew I was going to lose it. Finally, MacGiver tells David to come back in one hour. At this point, we all know that he wants to screw something up in the car or maybe steal some parts… Who the **** knows? So David, tells him… that we will wait, and so we did. MacGyver was pissed to say the least.

Two hours later, we leave with the car. David and his crew start taking it apart and to their surprise, what do they find???

The differential of my car is in perfect state, just a little loose!

Poor David, he had to call me… You can only imagine how I reacted! No need to explain, right? I was beyond annoyed, every single cuss word went through my head and now I was also worried about having parts missing in the car.

Finally, David and boys reviewed my car, fixed the differential, bought me a new battery because this moron stole my brand new one, and fixed all the missing parts so now The Cayenne is up and running!

I introduce you to The Cayenne

This whole story cost me a S**** load of money and now I have stupid differential for sale.

Anyone needs one? lol

For those of you that read my blog and live in the area, please do yourselves a favor and don’t bring your car to MacGiver! He is full of shit and will steal from you. If you need a good mechanic, let me know as David is willing to come to Guanacaste once a month to check your cars.

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, Life, My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The saga of the Cayenne…

  1. Cheryl says:

    Hooray for David…We have the Cayenne back!!!! It was like something out of a car soap opera. Your bike eh? hahaha

  2. Cheryl says:

    Ahhh….I love the gringa design…It’s AWESOME….I think I should get one for my car! lol

  3. sarah Jordan says:

    Actually, when does David come back. The beast has died…….

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Ufff… If we would have known… he stayed the whole week here! But I think he will be coming back next month… as long as he has clients he comes!😉

  4. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Wow! What an ordeal! Your attorney, your handyman and your good friends need to be told. That’s just crazy. Glad you finally got your car fixed though. I also like your graphic there though it’s not that funny now that I read your story.😦

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Well Lisa, this is part of our lives here in Paradise! The design I made applies to so many situations here.Lol I am actually thinking of sending it to print and have a sticker on the cayenne with it! lol Thanks for reading! Have a great one!

  5. carol grant says:

    So does this mean you dont have to get groceries on Cheryl,s bike now

  6. Susie says:

    Yikes……I am sure your blood pressure is still off the charts…Mine would be!! Good story, unfortunately for you, it happened to you!! SUCKS!

  7. Mario says:

    Would David help you sell it in La Guacamaya or some other place?

Leave a Reply

