Tea, Tea & more Tea


One of the key elements in my new lifestyle is tea. I loved to drink tea back in Canada, but under the beaming sun of Costa Rica, tea was not my drink of choice. I guess you know why, right? I preferred a cold beer, a glass of cold Pinot Grigio or a diet Coke filled with ice. Now, in the past 2 weeks I had to cut the former beverages from my life and add new ones – only natural fruit juices (Check out my Watermelon & Mint Juice – obviously don’t add the vodka if you can😉 ), smoothies, water & tea. Sigh

The question was: Which tea should I drink?

According to Hitler, the main teas I should drink are: Red Tea and Green Tea. Why?

Red Tea

Red Tea is considered to be one of the most beneficial beverages because it helps your immune system, aids with common aches and pains and has cardiovascular benefits. It also increases your metabolism and burns fat. It is preferable to drink it after lunch. Now, I replaced my espresso with red tea. lol

I did not try to many types of red tea, but I am content with Hindu Red Tea.

Green Tea

Green Tea has been part of the Chinese culture for hundreds of years. In the past few decades, the western world studied why green tea is beneficial for one’s health. Studies show that Green Tea is rich in epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG). EGCG is a powerful anti-oxidant which prevents the growth of cancer cells and kills them without harming healthy tissues. It also lowers cholesterol, prevents cardiovascular diseases and increases the metabolism.

As I particularly don’t like the taste of green tea, I have tried several brands. I also tried just the tea, meaning not in tea bags and I must say that I really do not like it at all. So far, the one I like the best is from St. Dalfour; The original Green Tea.

To make a change sometimes, I like to combine green tea with something else. I really like St. Dalfour’s Spring Mint Green Tea and Bently’s Raspberry Green Tea. I try to have a cup of each every day, this way I change the taste a bit.

Finally, my favorite is Mint Tea. I have been drinking mint tea for a long time, I just find it so refreshing. Mint tea is known to help the digestive system, I don’t drink it for that, I just like the taste. I can drink it hot or cold doesn’t matter. The best brand that I found so far is Twinings Peppermint.

Do you drink tea? Which one is your favorite?

Happy Friday everyone… if you go out during the weekend and have a couple of drinks… please have one for me!🙂 I will probably have a tea party! lol

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Life, My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tea, Tea & more Tea

  1. Lisa at fLVE says:

    I drink all types of tea. Black is my favorite but I also enjoy Green, White, and Red tea. I sometimes put half jasmine with black tea and not steep the black tea too long in the pot so that the flavor is not too strong. I had the opportunity to drink last night, but instead I opted for cranberry juice, but it was delicious anyway.🙂

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      I wanted to opt for some wine last night, but stuck to my tea party! lol I have to revisit black tea… I never really liked it, but maybe if I mix it with jasmine I will. Thanks for the tip.

  2. carol grant says:

    My brother drinks his tea with stevia can you have it? It does add a different taste

Leave a Reply

