Girls getaway ~ The Drive


Last week, Abby, The Jungle Princess, was in town. She took a break from her busy Vegas lifestyle, to visit her old “barrio” and friends in Costa Rica. In order to remind Abby of her old life, here in CR, Kelsey planned a girls getaway in nowhere less than the jungle of Santa Teresa beach, I mean literally the jungle.

Mal Pais and Santa Teresa are two beach towns on the Pacific coast on the Peninsula de Nicoya. These two beaches are surfers’ paradise and hippie towns for us the princesses. The infrastructure in Santa Teresa includes one main road longing the beach where you will find quaint restaurants, hostels or Beach Front Bed & Breakfasts,  “pulperias” (local mini markets), a panoply of surf shop  and some souvenirs stores.

You can get the feel of how cute everything is ~ Front of a souvenir store.

It has nothing to do with the infrastructure that we are used to in Playas del Coco, no AutoMercado there, therefore we had to make sure that we brought all our food supplies to keep up with our new healthy lifestyle. The day before departure Cheryl and I went to AutoMercado where we picked up a variety of fruits and vegetables, freshly pressed orange juice, some Honey Breast turkey, gallons of water, boxes of tea, and you name it… I mean it’s like we were going to no man’s land! We were worried we would die of hunger or something. I was in charge of packing the cooler, I mean really packing the cooler? Besides my clothes and every single beauty product one can imagine (worried I would need something and will not have it, although I never use more than 10% of what I pack), I am used to pack my MacBook, Ipod, Iphone, speakers, camera, Apple TV, all these electronic gadgets with thousands of wires because no one has invented a universal one.  Sigh… so a cooler is not really part of my usual packing strategy. Suitcase in hand, two Longchamp bags later and a cooler I step out of my apartment.

The trunk of the Cayenne ~ My stuff and Cheryl’s, missing the other two princesses luggage

Watch out, here come the “Come huevos”!

“Come Huevos” is a term used in Costa Rican slang. It refers to people that go on vacation to the beaches and basically bring their house with them; mattress, gas stove, BBQ, tons of food, cases and cases of beer etc. They usually travel in big groups and are obnoxious and loud.

Four Princesses & the Cayenne hit the road!

From Playas del Coco there are 2 ways of getting there, either taking the ferry from Puntarenas or through the mainland driving on some dirt roads for several kilometers. What do you think we chose? It was just to easy to take the ferry right? Not enough adventure for us… so dirt road it was.

The first part of the road up to Nicoya and some neighboring villages is good, I mean it’s a Costa Rican highway (not the highways we have in Canada), but at least it’s paved. lol From Jicaral to Paquera you have a 23km stretch of none-paved road with hills and curves, basically in the jungle where you have no phone reception so God forbid you have a flat tire or issues with your car. The Cayenne is perfect for these types of roads, you pretty much feel like you drive a tank up and down the hill. Now, I never had the Cayenne packed with so much stuff and so many people, so when we reached this really steep curvy hill, I finally learned how to put it in 4-wheel drive and go up in first gear. I know, I know… I had the car for over 4 years and never learned how to put it in 4X4. Pathetic… Conclusion, don’t go on this stretch of road if you don’t have 4X4, you will get stuck.

Here it is ~ The Road

Although, I am b**** about this road, I think that it’s a fabulous drive, it’s lush and filled with tropical vegetation and it has some really nice panoramic views of the Nicoya Peninsula.

View of the Nicoya Peninsula

Finally, about one hour later of dirt road (yeah, 23km) we hit civilization again. Well, you know the small town kind of civilization. Hungry, dehydrated and hot, we stopped at the first “pulperia”. Although we have 2 coolers packed with food and drinks, we still felt the need to go to the pulperia. It was to hard to reach the coolers under the 4 suitcases, the floaties, and who knows what else was in the back of the Cayenne. I had to snap a picture of this pulperia because it’s so typical of old Costa Rica. It reminds me of my first visit to Costa Rica God know how many years ago.

Does this inspire you to get groceries?😉

Anyways, I will not elaborate more on the drive to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, another couple of hours later we finally got there.

We reached paradise, so the whole ride was worth it.

Salvage, serene, empty, relaxing = Paradise

Stay tuned for my next post on the Princesses’ Shenanigans in the Jungle.

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, Nature, Photography, Sports - Activities - Events, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Girls getaway ~ The Drive

  1. Abby says:

    Ok, ok, ok…. I will get an iphone!! Your pictures are gorgeous!! I know I don’t have your creative eye, but I need some help lol. I can’t believe you took a photo of the pulperia we stopped at on the way down!! UGH!! Love the Cayenne.🙂

  2. Kelsey Hill says:

    Hey Sasu… just had another ‘class’ on social media over dinner. Look I can even respond to your post… aren’t you proud of me! Love the pics and story so far… will part two include the mean attack frog as big your suitcase! ha

  3. carol grant says:

    Gotta hand it to you girls , you are braev to go on these adventures

  4. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Lol. I thought “Huevos” means eggs? I was just thinking that from your description it was like you guys are moving a house or something and then I saw that’s what you said. Funny. Love the pictures. Really fun. So my question is, can you not have a car in Costa Rica? I am thinking of vacationing in a resort but don’t plan on driving. Is that possible? Thanks.

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Hey Lisa,
      Of course you can go to Costa Rica without a car. I mean you can go to some of the beach towns like mine where you do not need a car because everything is close by (restaurants, banks, groceries, bars etc). Check out http://www.puretravelcostarica.com, that’s another website of mine where you have all the information you need for my area.
      I do not suggest you go to a resort as this country is really safe and if you want to experience more the culture and how people live, a beach village is the best way to go. Also, resorts in CR are very expensive and not worth the money and most of the time secluded from population. Please feel free to email me, you will find my email in my contact info and I can give you as much information as you need or all kinds of tips.
      If you ever come, it would be cool to meet for coffee or something. I would say some PG… but now with this new lifestyle… ufff PG… comes in sparse quantities! lol

      • Lisa at fLVE says:

        Thanks for letting me know.🙂 I am glad I do not need to drive since I don’t plan on staying for more than a few days. Nothing is solid yet, but I will make it there… Thanks so much and yes, if time and everything permits, I would love to meet for coffee or something. No PG for me. I don’t think my honey will like it. Lol.

  5. Mrs. Sasu says:

    Well I surely hope you make it to paradise!😉 Also, I forgot to mention, if you want to hit the beaches, check for flights to Liberia airport, much closer to final destination than the one in San Jose. I think that the best way to come from California is through Huston. Note: Now it’s the green season, so you might have some rain in the afternoon. Don’t come September or October, it rains all day!

Leave a Reply

