On the spare of the moment ~ Marina Papagayo & Four Seasons Costa Rica


Lately, I have had some mahhh days. I am not sure if you understand what I mean.

For me it’s those days where you have a ton of work but have no motivation to do it, where everyone calls you to do something but all you want to do is lay in bed and watch movies, when all you want to do is escape to a beautiful place and enjoy every little moment, when all you think about is where you should travel next but you don’t foresee any trip. Basically, just mahhh.

Monday was a mahhh morning although I had some exciting meetings, I still felt mahhh. But everything changed in the afternoon, Cheryl came back from San Jose and stopped by. After she told me about all her shenanigans over the weekend, she said: “Hey, why don’t we go to the Marina Papagayo to see the sunset and have an early dinner?” I suddenly got all excited, got ready and off we went.

Marina Papagayo is the only marina in Northern Guanacaste. It’s located on the peninsula de Papagayo where the Four Seasons is. It’s on a beautiful piece of property where only the rich and famous park their yachts, catamaran or sailboats. As opposed to the Four Seasons restaurants’, the one at the marina is open to the public. So for a couple of hours, we pretended to be rich and famous and had dinner there admiring the boats floating under a gorgeous sun setting on the Pacific.

The menu at the “Dive Bar”, the restaurant at the marina, is very Americanized – hamburgers, pizzas, salads but still has some local dishes. I picked one of the local favorite’s; fish ceviche with tortilla chips and a Bavaria Dark (beer). I usually like to add a couple of drops of Tabasco to give to the lemony flavored fish a little more edge.

Doesn’t this look delicious?

Before going home, we had to drive by the magnificent entrance of the Four Seasons – unfortunately we did not get in! Sigh…

The entrance of the Four Seasons Costa Rica is just grandiose! Once you drive in on your right side you will see a wall of very high palm trees and on the right a beautiful view of the Pacific ocean.

In front of the main gate, Jorge Jimenez Deredia, a famous Costarican sculptor’s art is exposed.  The combination of the four sculpture represent life – the first one is a water drop which transforms itself slowly through the other 3 into a woman. These 4 magnificent pieces lay on the top of an infinity edge fountain, hence in water so again the birth of human life is represented.

This amazing entrance really triggers your curiosity to see how the rest of the property is; the hotel, the golf course and the rest of the amenities. I will leave this for another post… but let me tell you… as an avant-gout…

It’s Spectacular!!!

Have you been to the Marina Papagayo or Four Seasons Costa Rica?

What are your thoughts?

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica, My Ramblings, Restaurants, Travel, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the spare of the moment ~ Marina Papagayo & Four Seasons Costa Rica

  1. Abby says:

    I never made it out there😦 Gorgeous photos as always!!

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Thanks Abs! I love it there! Did you go to the Four Seasons??? I need to get myself a day pass there… I am going to ask one of my tenants that work there!🙂

  2. Cheryl says:

    Great photos Chica!!!

Leave a Reply

