Photo Challenge: Inside


Last Friday I got my weekly Photo Challenge email, the theme: Inside. I just stared at it and started thinking… what can I post for this theme? I mean really… how should I interpret this? Throughout the week, I kept on thinking;

How can one interpret this theme?

  • It can be something inside a house, building etc…
  • It can be inside something – I thought of photographing a watermelon, why? Because if you look at it from the outside, you could never imagine the way it really is inside if you have never seen it.

I obviously looked at my fellow bloggers’ posts and their interpretation of inside. I thought some were genius, others just boring. The ones that impressed me the most were the ones who managed to photograph and show us through their picture a feeling or the meaning of “inside” in their daily lives.

Then I thought, well how can I portray something from my life and convey the “inside” message in the picture?

As I was looking for my passport today, BAMMM I had a revelation!

Through the years, my passports have been my companions, kind of like my idealistic boyfriends. Although they have never let me down, have always been available when I needed them and together we shared several special moments, after 5 years I have to let them go and move on. I have to find myself another “boyfriend” an empty one, one with no history, one with whom I want a new relationship and finally with whom I will discover new places and share great memories.

You might be asking yourself why is she rambling about this passport business?

Well here is the answer…

I decided to give you a sneak peek of the inside of my passport. The current passport, with which I will have to break up in exactly 8 months if not sooner for the lack of available pages, has been my companion for the past 5 years. As you can see, by 2009, the first 11 pages were filled with stamps, so you can only imagine the rest.

We have traveled together through Latin America, the US and we will even manage to go to Europe in the next month or so. You are filled with memories, stories and shenanigans. You are not only my travel companion, but also my daily life one. As an expat in a foreign country, you come with me to the bank, on any road trip and even for happy hour.

We have great history together!!!

So long Tico friend… I am sorry I have to replace you in a couple of months, but rest assured that you will join my several other “Ex-boyfriends” in a safe place and every now and then, I will come to visit you in order to remind me of the great times we spent together.

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in My Ramblings, Photography, Travel, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photo Challenge: Inside

  1. toinlessons says:

    nice interpretation..!
    i also wanted to stay away from the watermelon bit…

  2. Love the connection between the passport and boyfriends. Very clever. So jealous of all the places you must have been!

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      Thank you! I really actually feel that my passport is my long term boyfriend, well at least for a couple of years. The other ones come and go! hahahaha

  3. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Love it! I love that your draw the comparison of ex-boyfriends with your passports though you made the clear distinction that the passport did not let you down. Lol. As for the inside of your passport, I am impressed. I haven’t really been to so many places yet, so I have got one lonely Canadian stamp in there..prior to that, I don’t need passport to go to Canada..ahh..I can’t wait to add a few more stamps.🙂 Did I tell you that I love this post?🙂

  4. Mrs. Sasu says:

    Thanks Lisa! I do remember the good old days when all you needed was a driving license to cross the border, everything seemed so simple back then. Now, when I go to the US, I almost feel like I am this Canadian on the run… They do not understand why I have so many stamps in my passport and why I travel so often. I guess for some people, traveling is not part of their yearly or in my case monthly routine. Hahaha… they don’t know what they are missing.
    For the comparison of my passport ~ I wish my boyfriends would be as loyal as my passports are. Lol Have a good one!

  5. Angelia Sims says:

    This is wonderful! I love how it represents the inside of you and your love for travel. I have an empty passport! It’s sad. I hope your new boyfriend is just up for adventure.🙂

    • Mrs. Sasu says:

      I hope he will be as adventurous as this one, if not more!😉 Traveling is one of the most important things in my life, it’s like a drug almost!🙂
      I hope you can take a trip soon, to fill that baby up with stamps from all over the world. Have a great weekend!🙂

Leave a Reply

