My inspiration & Toi et Moi Café


It was another warm and sunny day in Montreal, so I took advantage of this beautiful afternoon and came to the Plateau. Last Sunday, it inspired me. So I hoped this experience would magically repeat itself today. lol

Laurier Ave. today as the sun was setting

I have a design contract to finish and I have been procrastinating… you know one of those that you sit down, look at it, try to create something with existing material you don’t like because it’s not your style… basically one where you cannot put your personal touch but have to follow what others did before you.  Mehhh…. So I came to the Plateau in search of creativity and stimulation!

This time I came around Laurier Ave., it’s actually one of my favorite areas of the Plateau. Laurier Ave. (the area east of St-Laurant Blvd.) is known for its specialty stores, fancy boutiques, cozy coffee shops and gourmet restaurants. It’s a very chill area, not too many cars, nice sidewalks, a wide bike path and free parking all around (a very sparse thing these days in Montreal). You will also find a lot of local artists, a mix of Anglos & Francos and finally just a good vibe. Anyways for me.🙂

Entrance of Toi et Moi Cafe

After taking some air thinking about my projects, I was in need of a good latté, so I decided to come to Toi et Moi Café. It’s a really cute and quaint coffee shop. In French they call it “Café Torrefacteur” which if I translate literally is roasting coffee shop. What it really means is that they have a very broad variety of coffees from all over the world. You can choose your blend drink it here or take a coffee bag home for you to brew. The place is also known for its gourmet breakfasts and its healthy lunch menu.

Dessert counter & a wall full of coffee blends

 

They have a large “display fridge” with every imaginable cake or dessert. I had a thought for my friend Cheryl… I think she would be in paradise. All the pastries look so delicious.

During the week, I love the ambiance. It’s quiet and refreshing; the music is not too loud and you are not stuck like sardines (I cannot say the same for the weekends, this place is packed). Good for my inspiration! Today, not so good for my design project as I am sitting here blogging about the coffee shop! lol Once I finish this post I promise I am going to work.😉

Last but not least, the staff is very friendly and attentive and very knowledgeable about coffee blends and flavors. Next time you are in the area, come and try it, I am sure you will not regret it! On this note I am going to finish sipping on my latté and get back to work!

My treat…

Toi et Moi Café 

Address: 244, Laurier W, corner Jeanne-Mance, Montréal, Métro Laurier, bus 151
Tel: 514-279-9599
Hours: Mon – Fri 7:00 am – 11:30 pm, Sat-Sun 8:00 am – 11:30 pm

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Montreal, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

