La Foumagerie… Fou, Fou de Fromage!!!


Foumagerie or Fromagerie?

Why is she writing in French?

This is probably what most of you think.

Last Friday, I was invited to a wine and cheese at my friend Stephanie’s house. I was stoked… I mean, the cheeses in Quebec might not be the same as in France but let me tell you that we have a very big variety of cheeses and I LOVE Cheese. Let’s not even mention how much I love wine… we all know! lol

So between boxes and renovations, eight of us gathered and had a feast. I mean a real one. We tried about 12 different types of cheese, I cannot name any of them as our night was sprinkled with lots of wine. Lol Our “connaiseurs” brought some delightful wines.

On Sunday, on my way to my mani, I discovered a new place: “La Foumagerie”.

Their sign triggered my curiosity. I was still in the wine & cheese mode.

Foumagerie MontrealLa Foumagerie not to be mistaken with Fromagerie – it’s a play on words in French. Fromagerie means cheese store, the play is with the word “fou” which means crazy. I am assuming they wanted to imply “crazy for cheese” when they named the store. This is the marketer in me speaking. lol This specialty store offers you over 40 varieties of cheeses, which you can taste before purchasing. In terms of prices, well, it is a bit pricy but we are talking about good cheeses, not orange cheddar.

Coffee, chocolate, cheese counter… you name it!

The Foumagerie is not only a cheese stop but a gourmet store.

They have a variety of oils, vinegar, mustard, fine spices, chocolates, jams etc.

Mustard

I bought the pink one… I will let you know how it is when I try it.

You can also have a quick bite at La Foumagerie. I couldn’t resist.

I had the daily combo: Tomato, eggplant and zucchini soup with a Mykonos sandwich (olive oil with Greek spices, black olives, tomatoes, cucumbers & feta cheese) with coffee or tea.

Tomatoe, eggplant, zucchini soup Foumagerie

Deliciousssss

Last but not least, you can pick up awesome custom made gift baskets a perfect idea as the Holiday season is approaching. The prices vary from $20 to whatever your heart desires.

Finally, if you have never been, I strongly recommend it, especially if you are Fou, Fou, Fou de Fromage just like me!

On this note… I am off to have some Brie!

La Foumagerie – 4906 Sherbrooke St. W., Westmount – 514-482-5077

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Food, Montreal, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

