Merry, Merry Christmas!


All of us are preparing for Christmas Eve…

Some are cooking, others are doing their last minute shopping but I decided to blog this morning.

It is my first Christmas in six years in the northern hemisphere. Spending the holidays in the tropics is a completely different thing than what I was used to growing up. Palm trees with Christmas lights, Santa in shorts, 30+ degrees and bikinis did not really do it for me.

It’s very interesting how many of us associate the Holiday Seasons with our childhood memories. I remember when I was growing up, all I wanted for Christmas was to have snow. I was convinced that if we didn’t Santa was not able to come, I mean how could he? Doesn’t he drive a sleigh?

So being back to a white Christmas just makes me very happy.

Christmas on Sherbrooke St.

Last week on Sherbrooke St. in Montreal, while I was doing some last minute shopping.

Toro Blanco Resort, decorated for Christmas

Toro Blanco Resort, decorated for Christmas

The Holiday Season is also about spending time with your dear ones. My first few years in Costa Rica, I really missed that. I was new in town and I had some friends, but they all spend Christmas with their respective families and close friends. Through the years, however, I made my own family down there. I spent my last few Christmas Eves Italian style with my dear friends, Federica and Leo, the owners of a quaint little hotel in Playas del Coco. The traditional Italian Christmas dinner has absolutely nothing to do with our turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy. On the menu; a variety of fish and seafood and lots, lots of wine. I think that wine is the main ingredient. lol I never complained about that… you know my love affair with wine right?

These past few days, I have been thinking a lot about Costa Rica and the holidays. Although, I always missed home, I still had a really good time.

Now, speaking about spending Christmas at home. Ironically, my parents are away on vacation this year for the Holidays… so I came home and they are gone. Speaking about luck! lol But don’t worry, I will not spend Christmas alone. I am actually quite busy.

Tonight I am reconnecting with a part of the family… My cousin and his wife invited me over for dinner. I am a little anxious about it because I did not see some of them in over 6 years. It will be very interesting to see how all of us have changed, aged and what we are up to.

Tomorrow I am going to my second family… not literally, but almost. My friend Stephanie’s mom has been like my second mom for the past 15 years. I just love her… she even called me a couple of days ago to ask me what I was allergic to because she forgot. I cannot wait to eat her turkey and other traditional goodies.

I can just go on with my Christmas plans, however I doubt it’s of any interest. My point is that I am really happy to be back to Montreal to spend a white Christmas with my closed friends and extensive family.

The holiday season is to be with the ones we love. Let them know how much we appreciate them and how important they are in your life!

So on this note, Merry Christmas my dear blog followers!

Thank you for reading my ramblings and life experiences!

I know I have not been a very active writer these past few months, but I promise that from January on… I will keep you posted on how things evolve in the new corporate world I am in since the beginning of December and how the fast life is treating me!

Merry Christmas!!!

About Mrs. Sasu

Expat from Montreal, now living in beautiful Costa Rica. I am a travel addict, a photography passionate and wine & food lover.
This entry was posted in Life, My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry, Merry Christmas!

  1. Wow…Did we ever drink a lot of wine last year! hahaha

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Surprise |

Leave a Reply

